Orthopaedic Hospital Kano, 10 other medical centers get new CMDs

President Bola Tinubu has appointed Dr Nurudeen Isa as the new Medical Director of National Orthopaedic Hospital, Dala, Kano State.

This was disclosed on Thursday, in a press statement signed by the Director of Press, Federal Ministry of Health (FMoH), Patricia Deworitshe.

Dr Isa was appointed among 10 other Chief Medical Directors, CMDs, for various medical centers who were presented the letters of appointment by the Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Health, Kachollom Daju recently.

The statement noted that the appointment are for an initial four-year tenure which will take effect from August 1, 2023.

Other new CMDs are Prof Nyandanti Yakub Wilberforce – Federal Medical Centre, Hong, Adamawa State; Prof Issa Baba Awoye – Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Buddo-Egba, Kwara State; Dr. Umar Faruk Abdumajid – FMC, Daura, Katsina State; Dr. Muhammad Shittu Adamu –FMC, Wase, Plateau; Prof Shuaibu Jauro Yahya – FMC, Mubi, Adamawa State; Dr. Mercy Anugwu – FMC, Onitsha, Anambra State; Prof Auwalu Sani Salihu– FNPH, Dawanau, Kano State; Prof Rufai Ahmed – Registrar/ Chief Executive Officer, Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board of Nigeria.

Others include Prof Mangwa Kortar – FMC, Makurdi, Benue State; Prof Robinson Chukwudi Onoh – Alex Ekwueme, Federal University Teaching Hospital, Abakiliki, Ebonyi State.

Daju, however, charged the new CMDs to work with the health workers and stakeholders as a team and explore all necessary avenues to provide a conducive work environment and infrastructure aimed at achieving high-standard healthcare services.

According to her, “It may be challenging, but there is no challenge that is unsurmountable and your appointment is an indication of the confidence that the Federal Government reposed on you,” the statement reads.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *